How do you learn?

MY magic pencil


I was reading an HBR article “Managing Oneself” by Peter Drucker and found something edifying (in my opinion, at least)

I found out that Beethoven left behind a huge number of sketchbooks, yet he said he never looked at them when he composed. He was asked why he kept them, and he reportedly said: “If I don’t write it down immediately, I forget it right away. If I put it in a sketchbook, I never forget it and I never have to look it up again.” I’m like that too – in fact, many a time have I said the exact thing myself 🙂

Some people learn by taking down copious notes. Churchill used this appproach. Some, by drawing images. There are also those who learn by hearing themselves talk. I learn by making mindmaps. For the last 3 years, I couldn’t bring to throw my notebooks away because I have tips, pasted mini articles and pictures in them. I take them out very rarely, I admit. But today I decided to keep all of them. They are my learning journals. They are the main info source in conducting my feedback analysis that will help me discover my strengths. But that’s another post for another time.

For now, I’m happy to learn that I have at least one thing in a common with a great genius.

What say you?

