To 4G or not to 4G? On Nov 19th, I will answer the question.

I attended the soft launch of YTL Communications 4G mobile internet service, yes. That’s the name, yes. Or maybe I should say yes is its name 😉 Check out the website www.yes.com.my .  A few friends shook their heads when I told them about that though.  Not 4G, they tell me. That set me off on a quest to look for the differences between 3G and 4G (you know me and how much I enjoy asking questions, right?)

So here’s what I got from the most-top rated website that Google Chrome returned right after I entered the question:

  • 3G is the current generation of mobile telecommunication standards. It allows simultaneous use of speech and data services and offers data rates of up to 14 Mbps downlink and 5 Mbps uplink, while…
  • 4G is the fourth and the next generation of mobile telecommunication standards. Its infrastructure will be only packet-based (all-IP). 4G will probably combine 3G, GSM, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and VoIP.

Other than being able to surf, call and sms on the laptop or computer, the main differentiator is the speed. It means, 4G will be (or should be) super duper fast. How fast is fast, we may ask. Well, the YTL Comms 4G network is 3 to 5 times faster than 3G; an all-IP network that is designed with the Internet in mind. With yes, YTL Communication aims to offer Broaderband (clever play on the word, yes) where voice service is part of mobile Internet.

During the soft-launch event, I piggy-backed on the wireless network yes (thanks to @davybates) and I was shocked at how fast my pages loaded. I got whole pages up faster than a blink of an eye, and I tell you now, I can blink quite fast. YTL Comms CEO Wing was very happy with my experience when I told him about it. And frankly, so was I. Wouldn’t you be happy if you can watch YouTube videos with minimal pauses while loading? In my work, I deal with content a lot. I work with agents who send me links to their huge files via yousendit or other bulk-file transporters. I don’t need to tell you how frustrating it is to click on the download button, walk (at a very leisurely pace) to the pantry, fill the kettle, boil water, make yourself a cup of coffee and walk back to your desk at a much slower pace so as to not spill the coffee and find that your 42Mb file is still downloading at a baby snail’s pace. You yourself know how cringe-worthy those moments are, don’t you?

Back to more pleasant times, I am attending the yes launch on the 19th. I RSVP’d to the event and I’m genuinely looking forward to it. I want to find out how else yes can turn my phone into an extension of my computer and vice versa, so that I can send files, make and receive calls, play games (ok maybe not so much of this one), send and receive SMS, on any device, anytime, anywhere.

I also want to find out more about how yes has no separate plans for data, calls and SMS (did you catch my attempt at wordplay there with “yes has no..”? *wink*) and how I can say goodbye to multiple plans and high monthly commitments because the soft launch mentioned how I pay only for what I use, just like electricity. And did I mention that the credit doesn’t expire?

So yes, there a lot of things that I want to find out about yes (OK, I should stop now – but puns are just too irresistible – whether they work or not! LOL) and to my friends who say “It’s not 4G” with their upper lip curling with contempt, I say this: check it out first, AND THEN decide. If  yes is something that could give me a great value, with a price tag that I am happy to pay for, I’d give it a shot. And I can qualify my own statement – after all, I subscribed to P1 WiMax, didn’t I? I will continue practicing my power of choice the best I can. Will you?

p.s. Find out more about the soft launch and check out the pictures from there too, from my friend Brian Chong’s blog post.

4 thoughts on “To 4G or not to 4G? On Nov 19th, I will answer the question.

  1. Hi All,

    This is what I have to share from my view as a consumer-to-be myself too. 🙂

    I’d like to take these blogs statement about Wimax & LTE on 4G.

    http://www.investmentu.com/2010/August/long-term-evolution-vs-wimax.html

    http://westgatenetworks.com/anytech/wimax-will-thrive-outside-the-usa-and-europe/

    End of the day, all i hope to see is a positive change in the future and not grumblings from jokers i see on the feeds who would look like they didn’t get their invites to a prom and instead we should quit finger-pointing on who’s got these or that type of flaws before the launch or service has time to prove itself.

    We should just look from a sensible point of view and help the society find their solutions, not point-out the obvious problems that we are so tired to hear about.

    On another observation, I never did like the tech show-offs anyways. Such revolting & closeted insecure people to hang around with. Oops. I hope that doesn’t mean anyone here. LOL

  2. Hey there Darryl,

    thanks for the link to the standards site. If only my friends quoted an analogy as clear as you did. Now I understand it better. In the meantime, I’m still looking forward to check out this new player and see what they have to offer.

    Thanks for dropping by,
    Faz

  3. Sorry, you just Googled up the difference between 3G and 4G phones. Here are some useful links from the ITU (the body that actually comes up with these standards) site:

    http://www.itu.int/net/pressoffice/press_releases/2010/40.aspx#2
    http://www.itu.int/ITU-R/index.asp?category=information&rlink=imt-advanced&lang=en

    Essentially, only 2 current technologies have qualified as 4G technologies; LTE-Advanced (Developed by 3GPP as LTE Release 10 and Beyond) and WirelessMAN-Advanced (Developed by IEEE as the WirelessMAN-Advanced specification incorporated in IEEE Std 802.16 beginning with approval of IEEE Std 802.16m).

    The common requirement for 4G in terms of bandwidth (which everyone is interested in) is a minimum of 100Mbps while stationary, and a minimum of 1Gbps (or 1000Mbps) while mobile (vehicular (10-120km/h) or high speed vehicular (120-350km/h).

    Despite the annoying curled upper lips, your friends are right. YTL calling their new offering 4G is akin to Perodua calling the Kancil a V6.

What say you?

